Regions & States

Myanmar is divided into seven states, seven regions and one union territory, Nay Pyi Taw, the capital. The states - Chin, Kachin, Kayah, Kayin, Mon, Rakhine, and Shan - cover mainly the upland areas and are largely populated by national races/ethnic communities. The regions - Ayeyarwady, Bago, Magway, Mandalay, Sagaing, Tanintharyi, and Yangon - are situated mainly on the plains with a population of predominantly Bamar origin.

There are several different environment climates in Myanmar, but two main zones is the South East and Dry Zone. South East Myanmar includes the states and regions adjacent to the Thai Border, plus Bago Region.

It is comprised by mostly mountainous terrain of the Shan Plateau, a highland region that merges into the Dawna and TenasserimYoma ranges forming the physical boundary with Thailand. The population of the South East is estimated to be approximately 10 million (2011 HMIS data.)

The Dry Zone covers more than 54,000km and includes 58 townships which span from lower Sagaing region, to the western and central parts of the Mandalay region and most of the Magway region. It is estimated that approximately one-quarter of the country’s population live in this area. Situated in the shadow of the Rakhine mountain range, the Dry Zone receives limited rains compared to country averages. However, climate is not homogenous across the area, with conditions ranging from semi-arid (and even arid) in certain areas to semi-humid in others. Dry spells during the rainy season are frequent, but their intensities vary geographically and over time.

Ethnic Groups

There are seven states in Myanmar, Chin, Kachin, Kayah, Kayin, Mon, Rakhine, and Shan, which have distinctly symbols of Myanmar nationalism. There are over 135 different ethnic groups in Myanmar. Following is a rough ethnic composition:

Other groups (including Wa, Naga, Lahu, Lisu, and Palang) 4.5%

Content sourced from
World Bank